Board of Parole

Protecting the Public by Conducting Informed Hearings

Board Members

DAVID HENDERSON (Chairman) was appointed by Governor Jack Markell on May 9, 2012. He served in the United States Air Force from 1971-1975. He was a Delaware State Trooper for 22 years. He retired in 1999 as a decorated Sergeant from Delaware State Police Headquarters. Mr. Henderson has an associate’s degree in Criminal Justice from Delaware Technical and Community College. He was also the Chief Deputy Sheriff of Kent County from 2000-2011. He is currently serving his second term as an elected official on the Caesar Rodney School Board of Education. He has served as the President of the CR Board for 3 years. He is a member of St. Andrews Lutheran Church in Dover. He is also a Mason of Harmony Lodge 13 of Smyrna. Mr. Henderson is an avid outdoor hunter and fisherman being a member of several state and national sporting organizations. Mr. Henderson is a member of the Association of Paroling Authorities, International (APAI).

WILLIAM C. PFEIFER (Kent County) is the senior member of the Board, having been appointed by Governor Russell Peterson in 1970. Dr. Pfeifer has been re-appointed by every governor since 1970, his most recent reappointment having been in May of 2006 by Governor Ruth Ann Minner. Dr. Pfeifer is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh, with a B.A. degree in Business Administration and a doctorate degree in Education, with specialization in vocational education. Dr. Pfeifer was Vice President and Campus Director of Delaware Technical and Community College from 1980 until 1991, when he retired. He is a member of the Association of Paroling Authorities, International (APAI). Dr. Pfeifer is the longest serving parole board member in the country. In March of 2007, Dr. Pfeifer was recognized by the State of Delaware and APAI for this distinction.

JAMES F. JESTICE (Sussex County) was appointed by Governor Thomas R. Carper in 1994. He was re-appointed in June of 2007. Mr. Jestice served for 20 years on the Delaware State Police Force, retiring as Deputy Troop Commander of Troop 4 in Georgetown. He serves as Chairman of the Trustees of St. Paul’s Church, Laurel. Mr. Jestice is a member Delaware State Grange, the Delaware Farm Bureau, the Peninsula Blue Grass Association, and a lifetime member of the Delaware State Police Association. He is an active member of the Laurel community (Laurel Ruritan Group, Laurel Alumni Association, and past Board Member of the Good Samaritan Community Group,). Mr. Jestice is a member of the Association of Paroling Authorities, International (APAI).

JOYCE M. BEMBRY (New Castle County) was appointed by Governor Jack Markell on January 25, 2012. Ms. Bembry retired from DuPont having served 37 years in various professional and managerial/leadership positions in research, procurement and logistics. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and is a certified Diversity Consultant. Ms. Bembry currently serves on several Boards (Wilmington Senior Center, Bishop’s Standing Committee for Episcopal Diocese of Delaware and the Delaware Humanities Forum). In addition, she has received several business authority and human resource awards, and has experience as a facilitator for various types of training workshops including Supervisor and Leadership Workshops, Counseling and Public Safety Workshops and other training for professionals in a global setting within a Fortune 500 corporation. She is a member of The Links, Inc., a community service organization. Ms. Bembry is a member of the Association of Paroling Authorities, International (APAI).

LEE ANN BULLOCK (City of Wilmington) was appointed by Governor Jack Markell on June 20, 2012. Ms. Bullock has been employed by DuPont since 1984. Her current position is that of Safety & Health Specialist providing leadership to business functions within DuPont throughout the Wilmington Area. Her previous background within DuPont includes Worker’s Compensation Administrator and Accounts Payable Clerk. Ms. Bullock currently serves on the Board of Directors for Victims’ Voices Heard, Marcus L. Ware Foundation, and the Brandon Lee Brinkley Foundation. She is a member of a Steering Committee member for S.H.A.D.E. (Survivors of Homicide Driven to Empower) which is a subcommittee of the Delaware Victim Rights Task. She has been a guest presenter at the University of Delaware and Wilmington University speaking to Victimology, Criminal Justice, and Journalism classes. She is also a guest speaker for the Victim Impact Listen and Learn Program; the program teaches incarcerated offenders victim empathy. For 15+ years, she has participated in the DuPont Kentmere Nursing Home Bingo Volunteer Program. Ms. Bullock Bembry is a member of the Association of Paroling Authorities, International (APAI).

Related Topics:  , ,